Yesterday was another infuriating reminder that the Republican Party still has a long way to go before it can finally become a fitting opposition party that can actually fight back against the ruthlessness of the Democrats.

In what should have been one of the easiest votes in modern history – a resolution to impeach DHS Secretary Alejandro Mayorkas over his deliberate refusal to enforce our immigration laws and throw our southern border wide open – the GOP couldn’t even unite and get every single member to vote in support. Four disgraceful traitors voted against the resolution, siding with all Democrats in killing the effort: Tom McClintock of California, Ken Buck of Colorado, Blake Moore of Utah, and Mike Gallagher of Wisconsin.

Buck, like a true coward, cast his vote as he is on his way out of Congress, having already announced his retirement and thus turning himself into a lame-duck. But the other three have absolutely no excuses or justifications for doing what they did. Especially offensive is Mike Gallagher, a former intelligence officer with the Marine Corps, who should know a thing or two about honoring your oath and doing your duty by protecting your country – two things that Mayorkas has clearly violated.

Even if the rumors are true that the measure will be brought back up for a vote next week when Steve Scalise is back and able to cast a vote – and Moore will allegedly then switch his vote to yes and allow the measure to pass – there is no excuse for those who voted against this measure while daring to present an “R” next to their names. McClintock and Gallagher – and Moore, if he does not follow through on his alleged promise – must be primaried out of office in 2026.


Here Are The Four Republicans Who Voted Against Impeaching Alejandro Mayorkas

By Henry Rodgers

The U.S. House vote to impeach Homeland Security Secretary Alejandro Mayorkas failed narrowly on Tuesday, with four Republicans voting with Democrats.

In a 214-216 vote, the House failed to take up the resolution to impeach Mayorkas. There were four Republican “No” votes: California Rep. Tom McClintock, Colorado Rep. Ken Buck, Wisconsin Rep. Mike Gallagher and Utah Rep. Blake Moore.

Moore voted “No” at the last second so House Republicans could bring up the vote again, since a 215-215 vote wouldn’t have allowed that.

“Secretary Mayorkas will be remembered as the worst Secretary of Homeland Security in history. While inexcusable, this incompetence is not constitutional grounds for an impeachment,” Buck tweeted Monday.

After the vote, Greene released a statement about Moore’s vote:

“Blake Moore changed his vote no when asked by leadership for procedural reasons to make a motion to reconsider so that we can vote on impeachment again next week. We look forward to Leader Steve Scalise returning to vote yes and officially impeaching Secretary Mayorkas,” Greene said on Twitter.

The 3 no votes against impeaching Mayorkas were:

Mike Gallagher (WI-08)
Tom McClintock (CA-05)
Ken Buck (CO-04)

Blake Moore changed his vote no when asked by leadership for procedural reasons to make a motion to reconsider so that we can vote on impeachment again next week.…

— Rep. Marjorie Taylor Greene🇺🇸 (@RepMTG) February 7, 2024


.@SpeakerJohnson: “The resolution is not adopted.”

U.S. House FAILS to impeach DHS Secretary Mayorkas, 214-216.

— CSPAN (@cspan) February 6, 2024

NOW: MTG address failed Mayorkas impeachment vote after 4 Republicans voted with Dems against impeaching the DHS secretary:

— Henry Rodgers (@henryrodgersdc) February 7, 2024

The resolution was originally introduced by Georgia Republican Rep. Marjorie Taylor Greene. 

In November, the House voted 209-201 to refer articles of impeachment against Mayorkas to committee, with eight Republicans voting with Democrats to prevent a full House vote on the resolution.

Greene then reintroduced the resolution to impeach Mayorkas later in November.

Read the original article at The Daily Caller